The Sarah Markham Saxophone Award 2016
This year’s recipient of the Sarah Markham Saxophone Award is Kenneth Wilkinson.

He wins a cash award from me, reeds from Vandoren, and a voucher from Yamaha.

Kenneth has just completed his undergraduate degree at the University of Huddersfield, graduating with a first class degree. He was also awarded the Williams Woodwind prize, and also the Chancellor’s Prize. Kenneth worked as a classical clarinettist and jazz saxophonist before deciding to come to university as a mature student to study classical saxophone. He has also had recent success as a composer, with his composition Fragile Dyads for saxophone being premiered at the World Saxophone Congress in 2015. This work is available for download on my downloads page, and can be played by any number of alto saxophonists.

Kenneth is continuing his studies and will begin a Masters in Research at the University of Huddersfield. He is also a founder member of the new saxophone ensemble Quirk.

Previous winners of the Sarah Markham Saxophone Award:

2015 Lucy Fox (Leeds College of Music)
Lucy has just completed the first year of her Masters at Birmingham Conservatoire, studying with Naomi Sullivan.

2014 Matthew Rawlins (Leeds College of Music)
2014 Savannah Brown (Royal College of Music Junior Department)
Matt is currently studying with Raaf Hekkema at the Royal Conservatoire, The Hague.
Savannah has just completed her second year at the Royal Academy of Music, London as a first study violinist.

2013 Nathan Hull (Leeds College of Music)
Nathan went on to study with Rob Buckland at the Royal Northern College of Music and is now working as a freelance saxophonist in Yorkshire.

Many thanks to Vandoren and Yamaha for their support of this award.
Stacks Image 1860
Stacks Image 1862
Sarah Markham
The award is given each year to one of my most outstanding graduating students.